Batch File Error

Weird Characters Causing Batch File Error

is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

That’s the error I was getting, weird considering the only thing (after removing everything else) in the file was @ECHO OFF. The ‘weird’ characters are shown in the little snippet below

After a bit of head scratching I opened notepad++, switched on ‘Show all characters’…nothing strange there. I had seen this before but I can never remember….then I did! Remember that is, the problem was the file, when it was created (by visual studio…as a txt file), was created with UTF-8 encoding, needs to be ANSI for batch files (or at least it can’t be UTF-8).

Green indicates ‘good’ encoding for batch files, red bad.

With notepad++ you can see what the encoding is (under Format) and change it. I changed my batch file to ANSI and voila it works!

I’ve blogged it so I can remember next time 🙂

    • Cut1Less
    • May 31st, 2011

    I actually love you. I was having the same problem trying to make a “ghetto” application shortcut using batch files instead of regular Windows shortcuts (getting relative/current directories to work is a bitch…). This quickly solved everything.

    Thanks so much!

  1. Awesome! I didn’t know that these batch files were so peeky.

    Thanks for the tip.

    • Mr Marsh
    • April 10th, 2013

    I actually love you too, you are a star, thanks for taking the time to blog, head scratching over (for now….)

    cheers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

